Can’t Tell a Lie!

I would like to share one of my all-time favorite songs with you from one of my favorite movies!  It seems appropos as we approach Washington’s birthday on Tuesday!

We will be having Cherry Specials! Dried Cherry Scones, Cherry Oatmeal Cookies, Cherry Pie by the slice and whole (by order) and Cherry Limeade!

I could say that you’re homely

Just as homely as pie

But this is Washington’s Birthday

And I’ve got to say you’re beautiful

‘Cause I can’t tell a lie

I could say that you’re stupid

Nothing up in your crown

But this is Washington’s Birthday

And the truthful he

Of the cherry tree

Would look down on me

And frown

I could say that I hate you if I try

But I’ve got to say I love you

‘Cause it’s February the twenty-second

And I can’t tell a lie!

If you have never heard this song or seen Holiday Inn-check it out!

2 thoughts on “Can’t Tell a Lie!

  1. Diagnosis is affirmative – I have now croacked &
    gone to heaven-
    that cherry red world upstairs, full of cherry pie & no fibbers!

Leave a Reply

